Ten Mushers Add Their Names to 2020 Yukon Quest Roster

Sunday, August 4, 2019

Ten mushers signed up for the 2020 Yukon Quest 1,000 Mile International Sled Dog Race at the close of Sign Up Day on Saturday, August 3rd.

With what has become a tradition, Rob Cooke was the first to add his name to the roster. Cooke is one of eight veterans who will take to the trail on February 1, 2020, including two-time champion, Brent Sass. Joining the veterans are second generation mushers, rookies Lori and Louve Tweddell.

Mushers who have signed up by end of day on August 3rd will be added to the Opening Day Incentive Draw on August 13th for their chance to win $1,300 USD. The deadline for mushers to submit applications for regular entry to the 2020 race is November 29, 2019. Late entries will be accepted until January 3, 2020 with an additional fee.

The full list of mushers signed up for the 1,000-mile race as of the end of Sign Up Day is as follows:

  1. Rob Cooke (V) - Whitehorse, YT
  2. Brent Sass (V) - Eureka, AK
  3. Lori Tweddell (R) - Whitehorse, YT
  4. Richie Beattie (V) - Two Rivers, AK
  5. Louve Tweddell (R) - Whitehorse, YT
  6. Dave Dalton (V) - Healy, AK
  7. Torsten Kohnert (V) - Lapland, Sweden
  8. Cody Strathe (V) - Ester, AK
  9. Ryne Olson (V) - Two Rivers, AK
  10. Denis Tremblay (V) - St-Michel des Saints, QC

The YQ300 also received 10 entries, including 1,000-mile finishers Nathaniel Hamlyn and Misha Wiljes. The race is limited to a field of 25 mushers with a registration deadline of January 3, 2020.

The full list of mushers currently signed up for the YQ300 is as follows:

  1. J Jay Levy
  2. Nathaniel Hamlyn
  3. Will Troshynski
  4. Vickie Justice
  5. Dave Turner
  6. Paul Hamlyn
  7. Kelby Dillon
  8. Misha Wiljes
  9. Lauro Eklund
  10. Jennifer LaBar

The 37th Yukon Quest 1,000 Mile International Sled Dog Race starts Saturday, February 1st in Fairbanks, Alaska.