Skip to main content

Yukon Quest 2023 Countdown

Head Veterinarian and Race Marshal named for 2023 Yukon Quest

The Yukon Quest International Association (Canada) is proud to announce our team leads for the 2023 Yukon Quest races beginning February 11, 2023, in Whitehorse.

Dr. Kate Foster of Valdez, Alaska, will be the Head Veterinarian for the Yukon Quest 450, Yukon Quest 250 and Yukon Quest 100 this winter. Foster has previously volunteered with the Quest in 2004, 2006, and 2010 through 2014.

“I love sled dogs and I love the Great (White) North,” Foster said. “(I’m looking forward to) seeing old friends and getting back to working with sled dogs.”

Rookie Workshop October 22, 2022

The Yukon Quest is pleased to host a Rookie Workshop this fall for both first-time Quest racers and other mushers interested in learning about mid-distance and long-distance racing strategy, preparation and dog care.

The workshop will take place in the Grey Mountain Room at the Mount McIntyre Recreation Centre on Saturday, October 22, 2022, from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

Anyone interested in attending the workshop is asked to fill out this form in advance.

The workshop is free for registered Quest mushers and $5 for members of the public.

Sign-ups roll in for 2023 Yukon Quest races at Barkfest

The Yukon Quest International Association (Canada) was proud to welcome back the community for its annual Barkfest & Sign-Up Day outside its office in Whitehorse on Saturday, August 6, 2022.

The action picked up at the event at noon with a canicross race along the riverfront cohosted with the Dog Powered Sports Association of the Yukon. A total of seven racers took part, including four who also registered to race in the Quest this winter.

Subscribe to News